Nebosh IGC – RedHat Safety Training and Consulting


[span4][title_box title=”Nebosh IGC, NEBOSH International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety”][extra_wrap]Achieve recognition for your health and safety skills and knowledge anywhere in the world with the NEBOSH International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety. Over 35,000 people have achieved the qualifications since its introduction in 2004.[/extra_wrap]

[title_box title=”What kind of people take the NEBOSH International General Certificate?”][extra_wrap]Managers, supervisors and employees throughout the world take the NEBOSH International General Certificate because it gives them the skills and know-how to fulfill their health and safety responsibilities in any country and in any kind of organisation.

The NEBOSH International General Certificate is also suitable for those embarking on a career in health and safety, providing a sound basis for progression on to the NEBOSH International Diploma. No previous health and safety knowledge is required.[/extra_wrap]

[/span4][span4][title_box title=”Examinations for this qualification are currently offered in”][custom_list]

  • English
  • Arabic
  • Russian
  • Turkish
  • Portuguese (European)
  • Spanish
  • French


[title_box title=”What does the qualification cover?”][extra_wrap]The NEBOSH International General Certificate (IGC) covers the principles relating to health and safety, identification and control of workplace hazards and the practical application of this knowledge. The IGC syllabus takes a risk management approach based on best practice and international standards, such as the International Labour Organisation (ILO) codes of practice. Local laws and cultural factors may form part of the study programme where relevant and appropriate.The qualification also features a practical workplace assessment.[/extra_wrap][/span4][span4]

[title_box title=”The International General Certificate is divided into three units, each of which is assessed separately:”][custom_list]

  • Management of international health and safety (IGC1)
  • Control of international workplace hazards (GC2)
  • International health and safety practical application (GC3)


[title_box title=”How is it assessed?”][extra_wrap]Units IGC1 and GC2 are taught units each assessed by one two-hour written examination. Each written examination consists of ten ‘short-answer’ questions and one ‘long-answer’ question. All questions are compulsory. Candidate scripts are marked by external examiners appointed by NEBOSH.

Unit GC3 is assessed by one two-hour practical examination carried out in the candidate’s own workplace. The assessment must normally be taken within 14 days of a written examination. The practical examination is internally assessed by the course provider and externally moderated by NEBOSH.


Nebosh IGC – RedHat Safety Training and Consulting
4.8 (95.56%) 9 votes